Home » Just because... » I brake for birds.

I brake for birds.

The neighborhood threeway stop

Had my foot on the brake.

No cars in any direction…

Just a bird…

Walking across the street.

I watched the little winged creature

Take his morning stroll,

And all I could do was wonder, why?

I was stopped longer than necessary,

Stupefied.

***

Why aren’t you flying high, little one?

Why have you grounded those gorgeous

Wings of yours?

Do you need a minute to think?

Are you sick of sharing the sky?

Do you need a new perspective?

Are you tired?

***

Sometimes we all need a break from our natures.

If only to remember that we need to return to ourselves…

To effortless living…

To what feels right.

***

So walk a bit little birdie…

But don’t take too long to get back

Where you belong.

Flying high – Dipping and diving…

Your spirit’s smile,

Greeting each new day’s morning.

***

-Becky Moore

One thought on “I brake for birds.

Leave a Reply

